New Mexico State End of the Year Ratings for 2016

By Austin Killeen – December 31, 2016

In the “Land of Enchantment” boxers are rated in the original eight weight divisions. If I used the seventeen divisions that exist today it would look ridiculous. You would have two or three boxers in each weight class. I only ranked fighters that fought in 2016.  I would like to apologize for not mentioning Joaquin Zamora, David Proa and undefeated Bryant McClain in yesterday’s 2016 Year in Review column. They all should be able to have an impact on the boxing landscape in 2017.

Fights that would sell tickets F-A-S-T would include Ronald Baca/Elijio Sena at heavyweight, Brandon Holmes/Jason Sanchez at featherweight and Augustine Banegas/Angelo Leo at bantamweight. Other bouts I’d like to see are Bryant McClain/Richard Villa at light heavyweight, Jose Luis Sanchez/Joaquin Zamora at middleweight, Antonio Martinez/Edgar Zubia at welterweight and Alex Holquin/Pat Holmes Jr., lightweight. The hardest ranking was deciding between Angelo Leo and Augustine Banegas, I change my mind about that fight daily. As I stated in my column yesterday, there is one respected trainer who thinks that Angelo Leo is the best in the state.

I wish everybody a happy new year and look forward to some great fights in 2017.


  1. Ronald Baca, Gallup
  2. Elijio Sena, Clovis
  3. Randy McCarty, Las Cruces
  4. Manuel Otero, Peralta


  1. Bryant McClain, Rio Rancho
  2. Richard Villa, Roswell
  3. Richard Urquizo, Clovis
  4. Jordan Gregory, Albuquerque
  5. Daniel Chavez Flores,
  6. Andre Garlaza, Albuquerque


  1. Austin Trout, Las Cruces
  2. Jose Luis Sanchez, Albuquerque
  3. Joaquin Zamora, Santa Fe
  4. Arturo Crespin, Las Vegas
  5. Oscar Espinoza, Hobbs
  6. Michael Andrews, Hobbs
  7. Eduardo Ortiz, Albuquerque
  8. Oliver Parker, Albuquerque
  9. Ambrocio Bautista, Albuquerque


  1. Fidel Maldonado Jr., Albuquerque
  2. Josh Torres, Albuquerque
  3. Brian Mendoza, Albuquerque
  4. Hector Munoz, Albuquerque
  5. Antonio Martinez, Espanola
  6. Isidro Castillo Jr., Hobbs
  7. Cristian Castillo, Albuquerque
  8. Derek Perez, Belen
  9. Angel Aviles, Albuquerque


  1. Jose Salinas, Las Cruces
  2. Alex Holquin, Albuquerque
  3. Pat Holmes Jr., Albuquerque
  4. Aaron Martinez, Santa Fe
  5. Miguel Gloria, Albuquerque
  6. Enrico Orosco, Roswell
  7. George Roybal, Albuquerque
  8. Otto Sandoval, Santa Fe


  1. Jason Sanchez, Albuquerque
  2. Brandon Holmes, Santa Fe
  3. Jose Osorio, Albuquerque
  4. Jesus Pacheco, Albuquerque
  5. Alan Lerma, Las Cruces
  6. Gene Perez, Belen
  7. John Herrera, Roswell
  8. Eric Gonzalez, Albuquerque


  1. Augustine Banegas, Las Cruces
  2. Angelo Leo, Albuquerque
  3. David Proa, Albuquerque
  4. Tony Valdez, Espanola


  1. Matthew Griego, Albuquerque